Research Associates
J. Richard Abbott, Ph.D., Botany, working with Ron Liesner on Polygalaceae; New York Botanical Garden.
rabbott@nybg.org 

William S. Alverson, Botany Department, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI; Malvatheca clade, Malvales.
bil.alverson@wisc.edu or quararibea@gmail.com

John W. Andresen, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois; urban forestry.
jandresen@staff.uiuc.edu

Elisabeth Andrews Hooper, Truman State University, Department of Biology, Kirksville, MO; Aleuritopteris
lhooper@truman.edu

James Aronson, Centre d’Ecologie Fonctionelle et Evolutive, Montpellier, France; restoration and rehabilitation ecology of arid and semi-arid lands.
ja42014@gmail.com

Harvey E. Ballard, Jr., Ohio University, Athens, Ohio; Violaceae.
ballardh@oak.cats.ohiou.edu

Janet C. Barber, Assistant Professor, Saint Louis University; Ludwigia.
barbejc@slu.edu

David Baum, University of Wisconsin, Wisconsin; floral evolution and development, Bombacaceae.
dbaum@wisc.edu

Dorothea Bedigian, St. Louis, Missouri. Biogeography and evolution in Sesamum (Pedaliaceae) and related genera. Ethnobotany, Africa and Asia.
dbedigian@yahoo.com

Peter Bernhardt, (See Associated University Faculty)
bernhap2@slu.edu

Paul E. Berry, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin; Flora of the Venezuelan Guayana, Fuchsia (Onagraceae), Croton (Euphorbiaceae).
peberry@facstaff.wisc.edu

David Bogler, Liliaceae, Flora of Missouri. (See Staff Page)
david.bogler@mobot.org

Robert Bolla, Professor, Department of Biology, Saint Louis University; plant-nematode molecular interactions.
bollari@sluvca.slu.edu

Frank D. Bowers, Mountain Home, Arkansas; bryophytes.

Lois Brako, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin; research services, tropical lichens.
lbrako@mail.bascom.wisc.edu

Alan Brant, Botanist with special interest in wetlands, species of conservation concern, plant systematics, ecology.
2castorriver@gmail.com

Andrew P. Braun, Botanist, Springfield, MO, with special interest in Dichanthelium.
apbraun1s@gmail.com

Steven W. Brewer, Plant Ecologist/Field Botanist; conduct rare threatened endangered sensitive invasive species surveys throughout the Southeastern and Midwestern U.S.; conduct vegetation surveys including plant community classification and description, plot inventories, and habitat assessments.
swbrewer@copperheadconsulting.com or brewsw@gmail.com

Sven Buerki, Dr., Department of Life Sciences, Natural History Museum, London, United Kingdom; Sapindaceae & Pandanaceae.
S.Buerki@nhm.ac.uk

Robyn J. Burnham, University of Michigan, Michigan; Paleobotany, tropical lianas.
rburnham@umich.edu

Ricardo Callejas, Universidad de Antioquia, Medellín, Colombia; Piperaceae.
callejas@matematicas.udea.edu.co

Martin W. Callmander, Dr., Conservatoire et Jardin botaniques de la Ville de Genève, Switzerland; Sapindaceae, Pandanaceae, New Caledonian and Malagasy Flora.
martin.callmander@ville-ge.ch

Paulo Eduardo A. S. Camara, Bryophytes.
Paulo.camara@mobot.org

Jia-rui Chen, Honorary Curator, Chinese National Herbarium, Beijing, China; Cycadaceae.
chenjiar@sun.ihep.ac.cn

Elena Claudia Ciotir, Ph.D.,  Environmental Life and Sciences, Saint Louis University; global inventory and systematic evaluation of perennial grain, legume, and oilseed species
ciotirec@slu.edu

Alison Eleanor Louise Colwell,  Ph.D., evolution, ecology and population biology; presently at Yosemite National Park, Branch of Vegetation and Ecological Restoration, Division of Resources, Management and Science; collaborates with FNA works on systematic research.
aelcolwell@msn.com 

David G. Corley, Nestle.
david.corley@rd.nestle.com

Mireya Correa, Honorary Curator, Herbario PMA, Panama City, Panama; Neotropical Droseraceae.
corream@tivoli.si.edu

Barbara Crandall-Stotler, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Illinois; bryophytes (liverworts and anthocerotes).
crandall@plant.siu.edu

Jorge V. Crisci, Honorary Curator, Herbario LP, La Plata, Argentina; Asteraceae, Onagraceae, biogeography.
crisci@museo.fcnym.unlp.edu.ar  or  jcrisci@netverk.com.ar

Gabriel D’Argent, Mauritius Wildlife Foundation; plant conservation.

Gregorio Dauphin Lόpez, Ph.D., Bryologist,  Herbario Nacional, Museo Nacional de Costa Rica, San José, Costa Rica.
adriaendauphin@gmail.com

Christopher Davidson, Dr., collaborates with various people in the Garden; currently working on DNA and voucher specimens of Piper and Peperomia for gene sequencing.
cdavidson@floraoftheworld.org

Petra DeBlock, National Botanic Garden of Belgium, Meise, Belgium; African and Madagascar Pavetteae (Rubiaceae).
deblock@br.fgov.be

Tim Dickson, Ph.D., plant ecology, restoration, and climate change.
dicksontl@gmail.com

Michael O. Dillon, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois; neotropical Asteraceae.
dillon@abis.fmnh.org

Kingsley Dixon, Dr., Botanic Gardens & Park Authority Kings Park; works in Australian Ecological restoration, conservation biology and plant conservations and Ecosystems. His research led to the discovery of the active agent in smoke germination – a butenolide molecule (karrikinolide)
Kingsley.Dixon@bgpa.wa.gov.au

Calaway H. Dodson, Honorary Curator, Orchidaceae. Sarasota, Florida.
calawaydodson@hotmail.com

Robert Dressler, Flora Mesoamericana, Orchidaceae.
rdressl@nervm.nerdc.ufl.edu

Vincent Droissart, Institut de Recherche pour le Developpement (IRD), Montpellier France; Biologist/Tropical botanist.

Patricia Eckel, Botanical Latin, Bryology. (See Staff Page)
patricia.eckel@mobot.org

W. Hardy Eshbaugh, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio; Capsicum (Solanaceae).
eshbaugh@muohio.edu

Matt E. Estep, University of Missouri - St. Louis, Dept of Biology; grass evolution.
meestep@gmail.com

Robert Faden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.; Commelinaceae, flora of tropical Africa.
fadenr@nmnh.si.edu

Priscilla Fawcett, Waterloo, Illinois; Cycadaceae.

Donna I. Ford-Werntz, West Virginia University, Morgantown, West Virginia; Calandrinia, Montiopsis (Portulacaceae), flora of West Virginia.
diford@wvu.edu

Robin B. Foster, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois; tropical ecology and floristics.
rfoster@fieldmuseum.org

James S. Fralish, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Illinois; forestry.
fralish@siu.edu

Alina Freire-Fierro, Universidad Regional Amazónica IKIAM, Tena, Napo, Ecuador. Polygalaceae Systematics and Medicinal Importance, Neotropical Botany.
alina.freire@ikiam.edu.ec

Sara Fuentes Soriano, Indiana University; works on Brassicaceae.
fuentess@indiana.edu

L. L. Gaddy, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina; vascular flora of the headwaters of the Savannah River.

Chrissen Gemmill, collaboration on plant systematics in New Caledonia and Madagascar. As of Dec 1997 - hold the position as Senior Lecturer in Biological Sciences, University of Waikato, Hamilton New Zealand.

Hong ya Gu, Peking University, Beijing, China; isolation of agriculturally important genes in rice, molecular evolution of certain plant groups.
guhy@lsc.pku.edu.cn

Bee Gunn, Missouri Botanical Garden, Research; phylogeny of the Cocoaeae (Arecaceae) with emphasis on Cocos nucifera L.
Bee.Gunn@mobot.org

Clement Wilson Hamilton, Ph.D., Botanical, Ecological, and Horticultural Research; systematics of Neotropical Psychotria (Rubiaceae); climate change and geographic ranges of eastern North American trees and potential assisted migration.
clemwhamilton@gmail.com

Julian Harber, Foster Clough House in the United Kingdom; independent investigator who collaborates on the Flora of China; works on Berberis.
julian.harber@fosterclough.org.uk

David Harris, Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, Edinburgh, U.K.; African plants, Irvingiaceae.
d.harris@rbge.org.uk

Thomas E. Hawkins, Wallingford, Pennsylvania; Mesoamerican flora, forestry.
hawkins@voicenet.com

Kristine A. Hildebrandt, Associate Professor – Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville; collaborates with Robbie Hart and Jan Salick on Himalayan bio-cultural diversity projects.
khildeb@siue.edu

Matt Hill, Restoration Ecology - restoration of tropical rainforest.  Check Green Again - Madagascar website.
Matt2Hill@gmail.com

Steven R. Hill, Illinois Natural History Survey, Champaign, Illinois; Malvaceae.
srhill@inhs.uiuc.edu

Bruce Holst, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota, Florida; Flora of the Venezuelan Guayana, neotropical Myrtaceae, Bromeliaceae (Pitcairnioideae).
bholst@virtu.sar.usf.edu

Cynthia Hong-Wa, Delaware State University.
chwa@desu.edu

Robert Ireland, Annandale, Virginia; bryophytes.
robertireland@hotmail.com

Dale E. Johnson, Dr., Systematics of Eriophyllinae ((Compositae).
moxxykrispie@gmail.com

Mary T. Kalin, Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile; breeding systems, community pollination ecology, plant biogeography in high altitude communities, temperate forests, and Mediterranean vegetation in Chile.
southern@abello.dic.uchile.cl

Valerie Kapos, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K., and University of Washington, Seattle; Amazonian forest ecology.

Richard Keating, the anatomy of character state adaptations in flowering plants. (See Staff Page)
richard.keating@mobot.org  or  rkeatin@siue.edu

Robin C. Kennedy, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri; Epilobium (Onagraceae); research focus to "Flora of Missouri".
kennedyr@missouri.edu

David G. I. Kingston, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Virginia; natural products chemistry.
dkingston@vt.edu

Kaoru Kitajima, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida; seedling ecology.

Robert Michael Kooyman, Dr., Restoration Ecologist; Comparative Ecology Lab, Dept of Biological Sciences, Macquarie University; Australian Rainforest Ecology on the Basis of Species Traits.
Robert.Kooyman@mq.edu.au and Robert@ecodingo.com.au

Kim Kleinman, Webster University, St. Louis, Missouri; history of science.
kkleinman@stlnet.com

Tiffany Knight, German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research, Leipzig.

Kyra Krakos, Ph.D., ecology and evolution, Washington University; studies Oenothera and did some collaboration with Peter Hoch.
knkrakos@gmail.com  or  kkrakos@maryville.edu

Alyse Kuhlman, Dept. of Anthropology, Washington University.
akuhlman@wustl.edu

Job Kuijt, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada; Loranthaceae and Viscasceae.
jkuijt@uvic.ca

Douglas M. Ladd, The Nature Conservancy (Missouri Field Office), St. Louis, Missouri; natural area assessment and management, lichen floristics.
dladd@tnc.org

W. Joseph Leverich, (See Associated University Faculty)
leverich@slu.edu

Geoffrey A. Levin, Illinois Natural History Survey, Champaign, Illinois; Euphorbiaceae.
levin1@uiuc.edu

Ruth Lewis, Biology and Math Librarian, Washington University.
rlewis@wustl.edu

Walter H. Lewis, Senior Botanist, medical ethnobotany of Amazonian Peru and Ecuador. (See Staff Page)
lewis@biodpt.wustl.edu

Milton Lieberman, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, North Dakota; forest dynamics and restoration in Costa Rica and other tropical countries.

David H. Lorence, National Tropical Botanical Garden, Lawai, Hawaii; Mexican and Mesoamerican Rubiaceae, Monimiaceae of Madagascar, and plants of Hawaiian Islands and Polynesia.
lorence@aloha.net

Jonathan B. Losos, Department of Biology, Washington University.
losos@wustl.edu

Timothy K. Lowrey, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico; Asteraceae, Nepenthaceae.

W. R. Quentin Luke, National Museums of Kenya, Nairobi; East African floristics and plant conservation assessments.
quentin.luke@swiftkenya.com

Richard Mansell, University of South Florida, Tampa, Florida; phytochemistry, Araceae.

Robert Marquis, (See Associated University Faculty)
Robert_Marquis@umsl.edu

Richard Mayden, (See Associated University Faculty)
maydenrl@slu.edu

Christine A. McAllister, Dr., Principia College, Department of Biology and Natural Resources; evolutionary history of the Andropogoneae Andropogon gerardii.
Chrissy.McAllister@principia.edu

Retha M. Meier, Associate Professor, Saint Louis University, St. Louis, MO; Research interests include Xerolphyllum tenax, the genus Cypripedium, Physaira filiformis, and Asclepias meadii.
rmeier3@gmail.com

Allison Miller, work interest: origin, evolution, and conservation of domesticated Neotropical fruit trees.
amille75@slu.edu

Leslie Miller, Garden Ambassador; Science and Conservation.
studiolm830@gmail.com

Nicole E. Miller-Struttmann, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor of Biology at Maryville University, St. Louis, MO; evolution, ecology and population biology.
nmillstrutt@gmail.com

Robert H. Mohlenbrock, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Illinois; flora of Illinois and other midwestern areas, tropical legumes, and wetland flora.

Francisco Morales Quiros Ph.D., Bayreuth Universitat, Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany; Molecular Biology and Plants Systematics.
drifranciscomorales@gmail.com

Tania Maria de Moura, Dr.,  collaborates with Nelson Zamora and Roy Gereau – Universidade Estadual do Centro-Oeste, PR, Brazil – genus Mucuna.
tmariamoura@gmail.com

Stephen Mulkey, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida; ecological physiology of canopy plants in tropical forests.P

Jesús Muñoz, Real Jardín Botánico, Madrid, Spain; bryophytes.
jmunoz@ma-rjb.csic.es

Jérôme Munzinger, Laboratoire de Phanérogamie, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris, France; New Caledonian flora, Violaceae.
munzing@mnhn.fr

Michael Nee, New York Botanical Garden; work and continue his research on the flora/checklist of Bolivia.
mnee@nybg.org

Beth Newton, Fontbonne University, St. Louis, MO; statistical ecological studies.
bnewton@fontbonne.edu

Daniel L. Nickrent, Ph.D., Department of Plant Biology, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale; Molecular phylogeny, biogeography and conservation, molecular phylogeny of Thesium.
nickrent@plant.siu.edu

Brad Oberle, recently completed his Ph.D. in "Ecology, Evolution and Population Biology" at Washington University; collaborating with Ivan Jimenez working in herbarium on hybridization between native and introduced Lespedeza.
brad.oberle@gmail.com

Mark Olson, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, México; Moringaceae.
molson@ibiologia.unam.mx

Juan Carlos Penagos Zuluaga, Yale University, Hew Haven, Connecticut.
jcpenagosz@gmail.com; Skype: Jpenagos

Oliver Phillips, University of Leeds, U.K., plant community ecology.
oliverp@geog.leeds.ac.uk

John J. Pipoly, III, Ph.D., FLS, Program/Project Coordinator, Environmental Education Program, Parks and Recreation Division, Broward.org/Parks.
jpipoly@broward.org

J. Chris Pires, Assistant Professor, University of Missouri-Columbia; Brassicaceae and Onagraceae.
piresjc@missouri.edu

Greg Plunkett, Department of Biology, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia; phylogenetics and evolution of Apiales, especially Araliaceae.
gmplunke@saturn.vcu.edu

Roger M. Polhill, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, U.K.; Leguminosae and African Loranthaceae and Viscaceae.
r.polhill@rbgkew.org.uk

Sylvain Razafimandimbison, Stockholm University, Department of Botany; researcher and project coordinator at the Bergius Foundation; collaborates with Pete Lowry on the Madagascar project; Rubiaceae.
sylvain.razafimandimbison@bergianska.se

Paul Redfearn, Jr., Southwest Missouri State University, Springfield, Missouri; mosses of China and the interior highlands of North America, North American Leucobryum (Dicranaceae).
plr426g@vma.smsu.edu

Susanne S. Renner, University of Munich, Germany; plant reproductive ecology, biogeography, and plant sex chromosomes; Melastomataceae, Cucurbitaceae; Monimiaceae, Siparunaceae.
renner@umsl.edu

Enrique Rentería, Honorary Curator, Medellín, Colombia

Carlos Reynel, Universidad Nacional Agraria-La Molina, Lima, Peru; flora of Peru, systematics of New World Zanthoxylum (Rutaceae).
reynel@correo.lamolina.edu.pe

Zachary S. Rogers, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, New Mexico; Thymelaeaceae worldwide.
zrogers@nmsu.edu

Steven Rogstad, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio; systematics and population biology of selected Malesian and north temperate plant species.
Steven.Rogstad@UC.edu

Ricardo Rueda, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Nicaragua-León, León, Nicaragua; Verbenaceae, ethnobotany, flora of Nicaragua, especially the Bosawas and Indio Maíz Reserves.
rueda@nicarao.apc.org.ni

Barbara Schaal, (See Associated University Faculty)
schaal@biology.wustl.edu

David Seigler, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois; the role of plant secondary compounds, especially cyanogenic compounds, in biological interactions.
d-seigler@uiuc.edu

A. Johathan Shaw, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina; bryophytes.
shaw@duke.edu

R. D. Sheffer, Indiana University Northwest, Gary, Indiana; biosystematic studies of Anthurium and Syngonium (Araceae).

Seema Nayan Sheth, CCSD-Analysis Unit.
seema.sheth@mobot.org

Alan R. Smith, University of California, Berkeley, California; neotropical ferns, especially Thelypteridaceae and Grammitidaceae.
smith@ucjeps.Herb.Berkeley.edu

Neil Snow, Pittsburgh State University, Pittsburgh, Kansas.
nsnow@pittstate.edu  

Bonaventure Sonké, Department of Biology, Higher Teacher’s Training College, University of Yaounde I Cameroon; plant systematics.
bsonke_1999@yahoo.com  or  bsonke@ulb.ac.be

Victoria Sork, Department of Organismic Biology, Ecology, and Evolution, UCLA; evolutionary ecology, conservation biology.

Lloyd Stark, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Nevada; bryophytes.
lrs@nevada.edu

Kim Steiner, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, CA; Diascia (Scrophulariaceae) and the evolution of oil secretion as a pollination syndrome.
ksteiner@calacademy.org 

Alan R. Templeton, Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri.
temple_a@biology.wustl.edu

Eric J. Tepe, Ph.D., Dept. of Biological Sciences at University of Cincinnati, Adjunct Assistant Professor; plant systematics including taxonomy, phylogenetics, biogeography and diversification. (See Web Page)
eric.tepe@uc.edu or eric.tepe@gmail.com

Nicholas Texier, Ph.D. student collaborating with Dr. Tariq Stevart in Gabon.
texnicolas@yahoo.fr

Justin R. Thomas, Institute of Botanical Training, LLC; Missouri Flora
jthomas@botanytraining.com

Gordon Tucker, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston, IL; Cyperus and neotropical Cyperaceae.
cfgct@eiu.edu

Nan C. Vance, USDA Forest Service, PNW Research Station, Corvallis, Oregon; pollination biology.
nvance@fs.fed.us

Ina Vandebroek, The New York Botanical Garden; research is on traditional plant use in the Andes and Caribbean communites in New York. Also in Peru, Bolivia, and Ecuador.
ivandebroek@nybg.org

Gregory Allen Wahlert,  Ph.D., environmental and plant biology.
rinorea@gmail.com

Alan Whittemore, U.S. National Arboretum, Washington, D.C.; liverworts.
whittema@ars.usda.gov

Justyna Wiland-Szymanska, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan, Poland; tropical african Hypoxidaceae.
wiland@amu.edu.pl  or  justynawiland@netscape.net

Paddy Woodworth, School of Languages and Literatures, University College Dublin; journalist and author; ecological restoration.
Paddywoodworth1@gmail.com

Pan-cheng Wu, Honorary Curator, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China; Bryophytes.

Diane Wyse Jackson, Garden Ambassador; computer programming.
diane.wysejackson@mobot.org

George Yatskievych, Curator, TEX-LL Herbarium, Plant Resources Center, University of Texas at Austin; systematics of pteridophytes and parasitic angiosperm families; floristics and biogeography of the United States (especially Missouri) and Mexico; plant conservation and invasive exotic species.
george.yatskievych@austin.utexas.edu

Richard H. Zander, Bryology. (See Staff Page.)
richard.zander@mobot.org

Amy Elise Zanne, Assistant Professor, University of Missouri; plants in Africa and the United States.
aezanne@gmail.com

 

 

TOP